Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So… I’m eating famine rations for at least 50 days, and blogging about it in exchange for your donations to UNICEF to help the famine situation in Somalia, which gets worse every day. Please click on the orange 50/50 logo at the top left, or just go here to give (all donations straight through UNICEF). This has been (so far) a difficult and humbling experience, and one that will stay with me for a very long time.

I started doing this because I believe in doing rather than talking. Even if I retweeted every famine item I came across on twitter and somehow succeeded in making #FamineAid a trending topic, I wouldn’t have impacted or raised 10% of what we have done up until now. That’s not to say that I’m super happy about the status quo –my target is to raise so much more!

To be honest, the temptation to feel disappointed is huge. When I set my desired target of raising $75k USD for famine aid, I had no clue how I was going to manage it. I have probably used up all the goodwill available to me from friends and followers in social media after repeatedly whoring myself for this cause –and yet I still look at what we have achieved together and can’t help but feel like the biggest thing I’ve achieved is losing a lot of weight (I’m not complaining about that yet).

But that’s not true. That’s my pessimistic self talking, and it usually happens when I’m working late and super hungry and my cynical side asks whether this is all worth it. And you know what? It is. Even if it’s just to see the look in my son’s eyes, and hopefully show him that we all need to be a bit more compassionate towards other human beings.

Some of my best friends in the world have asked me tough questions like why I help Africans and not Mexicans (they do have a point, especially these days). My answer is that despite the terrible situation in our country, the African famine is a global emergency, where 750,000 people stand to lose their lives to hunger. But now the little wheels in my mind are turning, and I will find something worthy to do for my own country. Thanks guys.

I’ve also been asked “what will change after you do this?” In all likelihood, nothing, except for hopefully contributing to save the lives of a few human beings and improve their lives even if just for a few weeks. If you think about it, that’s powerful stuff.

Now, when I stop and realize that most of what has been raised has come from me, my wife, my family and my awesome friends, it does get a bit sad. For every 100 RT’s, I get 0,1 donations.  Seems like I would need to get to get to 5,000,000 in order to make my goal (assuming $15 per donation, and 0,1 donations per 100 people spreading the word). So, today I ask you to prove me wrong. Prove to me that despite the social media ADD we live under, and the myriad things happening every day, we can still feel for others, and we can still feel empathy for people in need.

Click here to go straight to the UNICEF project processing page and please give whatever you can. Also, please help us to spread the word by clicking on the sharing options below.

Thanks!