Tags

, , , ,

Welcome to Don’t Feed The Planner! If you haven’t been here before, let me explain what this is about: I will ONLY eat the equivalent of a famine aid ration for at least 50 days, and tell you about my experiences (and weight loss, as it turns out). In exchange, I only ask that you consider donating a small amount towards famine aid in Somalia and eastern Africa (all donations go directly through UNICEF).

First of all, let me tell you I am deeply touched by the awesome donations influx today. Please keep sending this out to your friends –the situation in Somalia gets worse every day, and we need all the help we can get in reaching the ambitious target I set.

I just came by the blog tonight because I wanted to tell you about eating rations and working late: It sucks is not a good idea.  Turns out that I work in advertising, though, and late nights can stalk up on you.  I must say that tonight’s late night working is actually something super cool –an idea we really like and for which we are preparing a presentation that will be delivered in our name on Wednesday morning. In Seoul. So, everything must be ready tonight.

With the little food I’m eating these days, this is challenging. But when I stop and think about the 750,000 people at risk of “imminent starvation” in Somalia (according to the U.N.), or the 4 million extra people in the southern regions who have recently entered the “technical famine” scenario due to the worst drought in decades –I cannot help it.

Please help me spread word of this project, and consider helping out with a donation by clicking here or on the orange 50/50 logo to the left. No amount is small –every single cent is handled directly by UNICEF and will go towards emergency aid for women & children in the Horn of Africa. Thank you.