image

Mateo having some of my cous cous

A lot of people look at me in bewilderment as I explain why I am only eating famine aid rations and asking for donations (always directly to UNICEF).  It wasn’t really a question for me at all.

There are over 13.5 million people who starve every day due to the drought and famine in eastern Africa. The fact is, a child dies every six seconds due to hunger, malnutrition and other famine-related issues. That means that in the next 50 days, while we ponder whether to get involved or not, twelve thousand children will die.

I guess it happens when you become a parent –but the thought of one of my sons suffering because of avoidable things like hunger, it pains me. Literally.

Yesterday was a very important day for me. Four years ago, after a little over a year of insanity a long-distance dating (and the associated ups, downs and issues) between Buenos Aires and New York (yup, you read that right), I found a job in New York, and moved in with my now wife and mother of the little devil you can see eating a bit of leftover cous cous from my ration cooking.  Celebrating these moments is a huge deal for us, and last night my wife refused to have me cook dinner and serve her wine, in solidarity with my project. So I have involuntarily put my wife on a protein and wine deprivation diet.🙂

Please help me spread the word, send this link to your network and please consider donating –any amount helps. Payments are handled directly through UNICEF, and can be done with debit/credit cards and PayPal. Click on the orange link to the left (top) or just click here to be taken to the UNICEF donations page.

Thank you.