Saviour tea from the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf

Why Day of Reckoning? Because we’ve gone through approximately 6% of the project time, and the very generous donations from people who have been moved by this experience are “only” at about 1.3%. I hope you can help me to keep spreading the word and helping our initiative to raise millions for famine aid in Africa.

Now: It’s been brought to my attention that the objective of this blog is not always transparent to all people. Henceforth, there will be a small paragraph on top to explain exactly what I’m doing and why, in very concrete terms. Here it goes:

For (at least) the 50 days from August 27 to October 16th (World Food Day), this “Fat Planner” who is 6’4″ and 215lb (1.93m and 97k for those who think metric) and is technically overweight, will only eat the equivalent of a famine aid ration. Everyday. No sweets, no booze, and theoretically no animal protein. A typical aid ration:

Ingredients
400g of cereal flour/rice/bulgur
60g of pulses
25 g of oil (vit. A fortified)
50 g of fortified blended foods (Corn Soya Blend)
15g of sugar
15g of iodized salt

The “Corn Soya blend” is a power pack of fortified foods. I will substitute this for an unsweetened soy drink. I can add condiments to my rations, and may replace some of my cereal ration with leafy greens (for health purposes).

Sounds simple, right? It’s not. And I cannot even complain, as there are 13.5 million people in the Horn of Africa at risk of not even getting this much. So please give.

You can click on the orange 50/50 sign at the top of the sidebar on the left of this post, or just click here. Thanks very much for your generosity, and for spreading the word.